• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Repro or Original?

Roughwear

This jacket is advertised as a WW11 A2, yet there are features which might suggest a well worn repro. The hanger seems to be too low on the lining, the zip which appears to be original to the jacket has what appears to be a plastic end and the Talon zip slider/puller is similar to those used on some older repros. If its an original wartime made A2, which make is it? It has a collar stand, which narrows the field. It is not a RW or a Perry, first contract Dubow or a Werber. Civilian made jacket perhaps? Any thoughts?

http://cgi.ebay.com/WWII-LEATHER-USAAC- ... 3ca6457fca

watchmanjimg

I'm far from an expert, but I must say I have my doubts. The zipper looks very much like the one on an old house ELC I used to have.

DiamondDave

Gents,

JC and I discussed this the other day when it went up. We have reached a consensus that it is indeed a repop, of the old Eastman HOUSE design. Gary at one point used those Modern Talon zipper repros with the plastic at the bottom of the tape. If you look at the last image you can clearly see the plastic sticking out of the edge of the zipper tape. Someone is going to pay a premium for a well worn repro, IMHO.

DD

Tim P

Shoot me down if you like but I would imagine a jacket with that amount of wear that was vintage to be 'dryer' and more heavily creased. the plastic zip end screams at you when you look at it. I concur with everyone else.

TankBuster

A friend Emailed me about it a couple days ago, I told him I was sure it was a roughed up repro.
Glad I did. He was interested.

watchmanjimg

That's how my house ELC looked. The leather had a wonderful patina. Never seen anything like it from other makers, but a repro just the same.

better duck

DiamondDave said: