• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

WW2 US Army impression

Peter Graham

I've been collecting WW2 US Army equipment for many years now, just little by little when I can afford it. I eventually decided that I wanted a set of equipment and uniform as used by an infantry officer in Normandy. Everything I've sourced is pre 1944 and with the arrival of a big box of goodies from the watchman this week including a complete 1937 wool uniform, leggings, tie, belts, cartridge belt and M-1928 pack I was able to complete my officer impression plus start on my next project, an infantryman of the same period. Here's the officer kit. Everything here is pre 1944 bar the repro roughouts and the postwar helmet. A WW2 fixed bale M-1 is on my list. The 1937 wool uniform that Jim sent me is in beautiful condition and fits perfectly. The side slung bag is designed for Thompson mags and is a difficult item to come by. There's a few other bits that would be nice to have, like a compass and a map case but they will come. Ideally, these photos should have been taken outside in daylight but there's not enough daylight around these days.

PC135579600x800.jpg

PC135578600x800.jpg

This is the beginning of my next project. A combat infantryman in Normandy. I'm only partly there. Among other things, I need a T handle shovel, an M-1 Garand Bayonet and a Garand itself plus bandoleers, granades etc. The side slung bag here is an M-1 general purpose ammunition bag used for carrying grenades, ammo, explosives etc. I love this bag. I use it to carry all my roadie gear when I'm working with the band.

PC135577600x800.jpg

PC135576600x800.jpg