• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Five Star A-2 Epaulette Placement and General Quality

Larsj

Hello All, Newbie Here...

After much research and deliberation, I decided to try Five Star Leather's Bronco A-2 in the semi-veg tanned russet goatskin. I just received it today and I have mixed feelings. The materials and workmanship are excellent for the price. The color is ok, but not the same as it appears on the website. My biggest concern is that I think the epaulettes sit on the front of my shoulder instead of on top, where they should on a WWII contract A-2. Before ordering the jacket I'd looked at several pictures of other folks wearing Five Star A-2s, checking for epaulette position because so many repros get it wrong. The epaulettes seemed correct in all the pictures I saw, which is why I'm pretty frustrated. I've attached photos...tell me if you see the same thing I do.
20231103_175146.jpg
20231103_175402.jpg
20231103_175431.jpg

Enigma1938

The shoulder / collar seam was placed on the top center of the shoulder instead of more placed to the back like with originals and because the Bronco epaulettes are usually placed in front of this seam it happened this way. That's clearly a pattern issue with 5*

Blackboxr1200S

Not sure if I would use the word "extreme"
Looked at some originals and indeed they tend to be placed a bit forward.
The difference is what ... 50mm.
Would not bother me.

That jacket is fresh out of the box, the virginity is strong with this one.
Needs some serious wear first.

bronco.JPG
1699093957065.png

Larsj

Thanks so much for the feedback! I'm still not sure what I'm going to do, but you've given me some good information to run with.

Chandler

FWIW -- this jacket's epaulettes do not look like that 5 Star -- Jan is right, those epps are far off.