• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Breaking in Leather Jackets--Definite Do's and Don't's

I had the jacket dry cleaned about 2 years ago, after my then infant son threw up all over it while I was holding him!
I thought I'd start this thread on breaking in jackets after reading Chris 217's explantion quoted above as to how his Eastman B-10 came to have that vintage look. http://www.vintageleatherjackets.org/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=2981

I've been wearing repro A-2's for almost 15 years, and like many of us, l like the vintage look; I want my repro to look not like 1942 in a box, but like 1944 after 35 missions. Mostly I just wear one jacket hard day-in and day-out, but I've also discovered some definite DO's and DON'T's when it comes to achieving that desired look:

DO: Get your jacket wet, and wear it wet until it dries. It's only sensible to be somewhat protective of a $500+ leather jacket, but protecting it from the rain and the elements will not help you achieve the look. I wore an aniline Eastman 1401 hard for years and it broke in well, but it never looked like a WW2 A-2 until it got soaked through in the rain 2 or 3 times. Each time, after it dried, the grain was more pronouned, and all the leather panels but espeically the pocket flaps and collar, lost the "ironed" look that they had kept since the jacket was new. So wear that high-end repro into a cold shower if you have to, but get it soaked, and keep the jacket on until the leather dries.

DON'T: Don't take a cat to the vet--at least not a cat with claws--while wearing a leather jacket. Scratches, gouges and teeth marks do not really contribute to an authentic 50 mission look. Human blood, while perhaps morbidly authentic, doesn't really make it either.

Anyone else have some definite DO's or DON'T's?

stubbyeighth