• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Avirex A-2 horsehide 90’s

Classicman88

Hi everyone,

this will be my very first post and I’ve recently purchased an Avirex A-2 horsehide jacket that the prior owner claims he purchased in 1993 from Avirex HQ in Manhattan. I’m not familiar with horsehide nor specifically Avirex horsehide jackets of that generation, the jacket is fairly light and not sure how the horse hide shoukd feel, it does feel more sturdy but still very soft doesn’t have too much wear on it besides the arms and some edges of the leather seams. Just making sure jacket is legit, it’s far lighter than my cockpit USA jacket which is actually lambskin.

I’m new to this jacket collecting and curious, it is the real deal or not?? Also….paid $150 for this vintage jacket.

Classicman88

Hope these pictures help, main thing I noticed is how light the jacket feels, not very heavy at all, put it in my arms on scale and added about 3.5 lbs to myself

Attachments

• 79931CF8-8F75-4F43-AC6B-AEBDBA48684A.jpeg
    79931CF8-8F75-4F43-AC6B-AEBDBA48684A.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 91
  • 3E95876F-E5FF-44B2-A7D5-021852D061AC.jpeg
    3E95876F-E5FF-44B2-A7D5-021852D061AC.jpeg
    2.4 MB · Views: 88
  • AA13D3E0-6467-43EC-9188-1C9D4CAF225C.jpeg
    AA13D3E0-6467-43EC-9188-1C9D4CAF225C.jpeg
    3.2 MB · Views: 76
  • 792530F1-1B03-436D-A1E7-C9FFEA9F0841.jpeg
    792530F1-1B03-436D-A1E7-C9FFEA9F0841.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 70
  • D7C5F629-7224-4D3F-8439-AB6DFAF5C2A2.jpeg
    D7C5F629-7224-4D3F-8439-AB6DFAF5C2A2.jpeg
    2.4 MB · Views: 82

Chandler

I have an Avirex HH from this same era (1990 or so) and it has identical tags.

The difference between yours and mine is that my hide is lighter in color and far more grainy.

And FWIW, mine weighs about the same as an ELC horsehide jacket I own.