• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Newbie: Which contract and size for my body measurements?

Turntabloid

Hi,

I am a total newbie to flight jackets, but I definitely want to buy a A-2 and already have some ideas how I want it to fit.

Feel free to bash me, as my wishes might not correspond to any original contract, but maybe you have a good suggestion!

I am 6'2" (189cm) tall, I weight 190lbs (86kg), chest is approx. 42.5" (108cm) measured with a shirt and tad of room.
Long arms and torso.

This all said, I definitely look for a LONG, instead of a REGULAR cut.

Additionally, I want the jacket to have a more fitted tendency than the usual bulky cuts I saw so far and relatively long.

Eastman Leather suggested a Werber contract in a LONG cut (adding 1.5" to the sleeve and body).

Could some of you comment on this suggestion, suggest other contracts which might fit my requirments and maybe also comment on which size to take in the contracts with the above measurements?

Any help would be highly appreciated!

Br,
TT

SuinBruin

If you genuinely want a custom fit jacket, you really need to talk to John Chapman of Good Wear Leather. He will be able to provide you feedback based on your measurements and body type as to which A-2 contract will fit you best, and then cut the jacket to those specs. As good as Eastman and some of the other makers are, you would essentially be going off-the-rack sizing with them (with perhaps some variation in length as Eastman told you).

A Good Wear is expensive, and it takes some time to receive your jacket, but John is a great guy to deal with, knows his stuff backwards and forwards, and will make you the jacket you want made.