• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Need advice on USAAF and RAF flight helmet, goggles, and oxygen mask.

Kermit3D

I am interested in purchasing these items. But I am not an expert... I would need your advice :
- Are all these items well original ?
- Do the items match well together (good historical period) ?
- Does the asking price seem right ?

There is little description on the ads but from what I can see it is :

- The first USAAF lot including a Type A-11 helmet, B-8 goggles (with box and screens), and a Type A-14 oxygen mask. The whole set is offered at 590 euros.

41473ee0b0bc443d9098089edbdaac861c5ad3d0.jpg
a768b171ddb9969bb07d82cfd7e8214e53d1a6e1.jpg

a820f6236a98f830e2956635dd1288d74078a35e.jpg

- The second lot RAF includes a Type C (1943 Pattern) flight helmet, Type MkVIII goggles, and a Type G oxygen mask (I have serious doubts about this mask and it seems incomplete). The whole set is offered at 480 euros.

e5589efe6b410f9c94d89caf68b76900cbf73407.jpg
a9824c797b5e31d81c70e26087a2f1db2dcf482b.jpg

97c98d33f5aa83308f284a4f9ec77b3826ed86be.jpg
8fc9b67296931ad4837bb034ff9cbbe1b0efe398.jpg

Any additional information would be greatly appreciated
Thanks for your help. :)

Dany McDonald

Bonjour Guillaume,

I can't help you, but I hope the advice given here by members is positive. I too am looking at oxy mask but this is out of league for now! The grouping is impressive, good luck!

Dany

Micawber

Prices of everything you are looking for are rising all the time.

Check the date of the A-14 mask and also condition of the rubber straps as they are known for cracking, perishing and eventually failing. Larger A-11's are sought after as are less common makers. A photo of the label would help you. Boxed B-8 goggles were plentiful not that many years ago.