• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Help newbie with ID'ing 60's (?) G-1

brownbanana

First off I'd just like to say it's been fun browsing and learning from this forum. With some reading done, I decided to pick up a G-1.

So here goes the question, from my newbie guesstimate, I believe I had picked up a 60's G-1, though my doubts are quickly rising:

Mouton collar - light brown maybe somewhat orange shade
Problem: Could be fake. I'm a newb, so I can't tell from real mouton or fake

Knit cuffs and waist - Dark reddish brown

Zipper - conmar

Size/Manufacturer tag - missing

Windflap - No USN perforation
Is this the big give-away? No USN = a civvy model?

Other details would include that the jacket seems kind of new, the liner (khaki'ish brown color) seems to be perfect, one hole on the cuff, a small hole on the waist and some small chips on the leather. Thanks for any help and please be gentle to the newbie lol.

Roughwear

Welcome to the forum. If the Conmar zipper is original to the jacket the G-1 would date from before 1968 as Conmar became Scovill in this year. Pictures of the jacket would help to determine if its an issued jacket or a civi model, which seems likely.

MikeyB-17