• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Experts Opinion

jschare

I'm relatively new to the A-2 game so I'd like the experts opinion on a couple of GW jackets I have my eye on. I received my Acme 18775-P last month and am looking at either the Rough Wear 1401-P or the Dubow 27798. I'd like to solicit opinions on which one you like or dislike and why? Thanks in advance...

watchmanjimg

I'm not sure I'd qualify as an "expert" but I'd say you've picked two very popular designs. I strongly prefer the Dubow for its collar shape and athletic fit, and would avoid the 1401-P specifically because of its ungainly-looking (in my opinion) stand collar. I'm sure that others will say just the opposite, but you really can't go wrong either way.

SuinBruin

I'm with Jim, I don't like collar stands. I almost got a 27798 but opted for another Bronco at the last second. IMO the Dubow is one of the iconic A-2 looks, I don't think you can go wrong with that contract. The Rough Wears are very popular too, though, and at least in name are only beaten out (IMO) by the aforementioned Bronco.

Willy McCoy

Collar stand is good.

220px-A-2_Jacket.jpg

deeb7

Gone, but not forgotten.
greyhound52 said:
Rough wear--never able to get a Dubow to fit right.

And for me, it's just the opposite, pulling, and tugging at a Rough Wear, but it won't get comfortable, or sit right ... perfect fit with a Dubow.

That's your real problem ... if you like both, it doesn't really matter which one you end up with, but of course, you want a good fit. And you can't try them on, so you pick any one, order it, and hope that it fits you well. If it doesn't, you offer it to us, or sell it on eBay, and order the other contract.

PADDY_M

RoughWear. I've pics of my GW-RW in my Lounge page.
On mobile here, but put..