• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

CWU 45p V B15

USMC_GAU-21

I would say that the 45P is warmer and it is a little thicker. the fit on the B15 is a little tight, so if you want to wear anything other then a regular shirt under a B15 you had better get a bigger size. IMHO.

With a CWU-45P, you can fit a shirt, turtleneck under it with no problem in the size you are. (Med, Lrg, XL, XXL etc)

The 45P just fits nice.

don't get me wrong I like my B15, but I always seem to grab the 45P when I run out.

r/Gy Dan

watchmanjimg

This is an interesting question. Which B-15 are we talking about here? I have no experience with the early wool/alpaca-lined models, but I'd be surprised if the CWU-45 is warmer than nylon B-15 variants interlined with double-sided pile (like their MA-1 successors through the E model). I guess I haven't worn my CWU-45s a whole lot here in Florida, but I've worn a lot of MA-1s and the later F model with its polyester batting doesn't hold a candle to the pile-interlined versions.

USMC_GAU-21

I have both MA-1 wool lined, poly lined, and a 45/P issued to me and I think the 45/P is much warmer here in Maryland winters, and when I was in Norway and Kosovo.

My Nylon B15, is also very warm, but I still think not as warm as my 45/P. Just my opinion. I flew with both the 36/P & 45/P in the Marine Corps and in helicopters we fly with doors open and it is cold.

But interested in what others feel.

r/DRH

A

Anonymous

That's a curious question. It's a bit like asking which is warmer, an Irvin or an N-3B ?

Are you trying to decide which one to buy ? Because there's more to these jackets than warmth. They are so completely different in appearance.

Or are you trying to see if time hasn't made things better ? Coz it has If I were flying I'd want Nomex !!