• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Aero RAF.

riopaulf

Hey guys. I saw a photo of an Aero RAF jacket online. It looks to me like it's a redskin, though?
I thought they were only available in Russet and seal brown? Am I missing something here??
Totally love the colour of this!
bac88ee2cb3b43ac6941f1b79d0b1e91.jpg

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

MikeyB-17

I’m no expert on Aero’s hide colour options, but that doesn’t look like redskin to me. Redskin was hand dyed and had a very mottled, uneven finish. That looks very even. It was also a USAAF thing, not RAF AFAIK. You certainly see redskin B-3’s, B-6’s and D-1’s, and I only know it as a USAAF colour. Others with more knowledge of Irvins may tell you different. Whether Aero would do you one in redskin if you asked them, I dunno, but I don’t believe it would be be authentic-if that matters to you.

riopaulf

Thanks for that. Perhaps it's a Russet one and the lighting is playing a part here? Who knows! Already planning a B3 or Irvin for winter. Did I hear so done mention that Aero will be going to an event where I can try on these jackets before I buy one? I'm growing impatient for my d1

stanier

Yes I think russet and redskin is being confused here.

There was an Aero event in London earlier in the year but I think it’s over now. Could that be what you’re thinking of? I wish I’d been able to get to it too!

D97x7

Probably just the lighting, it looks russet to me.
Here's a pic of Aero's russet next to Eastman's redskin, quite different, although the redskin is actually a russet as well
P_20190225_100640.jpg

The one in the OP could be an older batch of skins I assume.

riopaulf

Here's a pic of Aero's russet next to Eastman's redskin, quite different, although the redskin is actually a russet as well
View attachment 15458