• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

A-2 Fit and Driving a Car

PDXRunner

I've been reading this forum for a while, but this is my first post. Hopefully this will not come off as yet another "how A-2's were worn" question. This is a more specific question: is an accurate A-2 reproduction a jacket that can be comfortably worn everyday?

I recently received a Good Wear Leather No-Name 27753 size 46. It's a beautiful jacket. I am new to A-2's, and so I tried on two test jackets (different makers) and provided my measurements in order to get a good fit. One of the reasons I picked the GW 27753 is because it's one of their "most comfortable fitting" jackets. In the spirit of authenticity, I asked for the jacket to be made with few or no modifications to the pattern, and that I would prefer a larger jacket over a smaller one if I was between sizes.

The jacket I got fits well, and seems to look like many of the fit pictures I see on this forum. However, for driving, the sleeves ride up. Is this just the way an A-2 fits that isn't ridiculously over sized? At the same time, I would imagine aviators would not want their sleeves riding up inside a cockpit. I recently checked out the A-2 fit pictures in "U.S. Combat Flying Clothing: Army Air Forces Clothing During World War II" and "Gear Up!: Flight Clothing & Equipment of USAAF Airmen in WWII." I know there has been much discussion on how these jackets were originally worn, so I am not necessarily asking about how they were worn. I am asking how do you wear your jackets now? Do you have a "smart" looking jacket that also lets you move your arms easily or are the sleeves of an A-2 going to ride up because there is no action back?

I'd appreciate any insight you can provide me.

greyhound52