• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Newbie's First "A-2" A Manky Old Goat Avirex

CoopDog

O.K., don't bash me. I am a newbie. I have never owned an A-2. And, some will say that even after buying this one, I still don't. But after returning one Crap-Bay jacket that didn't fit, I picked up this one for less than $100. It is a size 44 genuine goatskin and fits me nearly perfectly. It's old, has some fading, and some stains, but I can wear it whenever I want without worry. And, most importantly, I can measure it and use it as a reference point for ordering a quality repro. if I ever decide to spend the $$ to do so (my wife would kill me if she knew what the repros. cost, but what she doesn't know, won't hurt her - or me.) I am yearning for a Dubow seal brown from Platon. That will be next. Platon doesn't accept returns for non-fitting jackets. So, the cost of this one is well worth it to me to make sure I order the right size.

Saint-ex

I did almost same with my Fivestar.
It's a way to have reference and a jacket you are not worried to damage. And finally not so bad.

B-Man2

Don’t apologize Coop... most of us started out the same way. Several years ago when the dinosaurs walked the planet and there were no such things as Aero, Good Wear or ELC we wore Avirexs’ and loved them . That’s a nice one .!

Tom Bowers

I still love my old Avirex A-2 that I've had since high school (1986 if you must know) which makes it, and me, truly vintage

Nice jacket by the way wear it and enjoy it 99% of the population wouldn't know it from the most crazy expensive Eastman

Silver Surfer