• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

New, worn and well worn - who buys for which end product ?

A

Anonymous

Why is it that the repro makers seem to shy away from having photos of their jackets after they've been worn awhiles ? Most of us buy our leather jackets because of how they'll look after some good wear (no pun intended :lol: ) rather than how they look new. ELC of course do show their 'Time-Worn' jackets but even those are how they look when you receive them rather than how you'll look in one after a ouple of years.

Are they missing out on potential customers or do they think that such photos will deter people ?

Which do YOU buy your leather for ?

Dave :ugeek:

That's an excellent question. I'm no marketing expert, so I don't know what market they are trying to reach exactly. I would think that real jacket heads who buy high end repros are very likely interested in jackets with "character" and would love to see some examples of the maker's jackets after actually acquiring said character. I know I would...

The members of this forum perhaps comprise a small percentage of sales to bigger makers like ELC or Aero, but how many times have we seen members talk, cuss, and discuss "the look" and hot water treatments, and wear patterns, and grain of hides, how to break in a jacket, etc?

Always a hot topic for us, I do wonder if worn-in jackets with character would scare off other less "look" oriented consumers?

Very good question. I guess I'm like a lot here and love the feeling of a new leather jacket in hand, but immediately start wondering what it will look like when broken in...

havocpaul