• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Is this Navy patch authentic and help needind ID'ing it

Peter Graham

I recently recieved this patch with a Korean war era G-1. It was never sewn on the jacket but has been applied previously. The seller claims it's an authentic VP-8 patch but being a complete patch novice I'd like some opinions. The patch is thin leather with the design painted on in matt colours. The paint is very thin but ridges are disernable, especially on the wings of the wasp. The patch is very pliable and can be bent nearly over on itself with no cracking of the paint. I don't want to bend it too far in case I damage it. The paint does not glow. The backing is stuck on and is a red HBT material. What do you guys think, is it original ? Help would also appreciated in ID'ing the patch. I've tried searching for VP-8 on the net but I've come up with nothing. I eagerly await your input.
ma1001-2.jpg

ma1002-1.jpg

ma1003-1.jpg

ma1004-2.jpg

442RCT

Dunno if that's a genuine VP 8 patch or not, I've painted a few like that and looking at the artwork, it wouldn't be difficult to copy.

As for VP 8's history, here's a website dedicated to naval VP squadrons:
http://www.vpnavy.org/vp8.html

TankBuster

Peter,
I could go either way on this one. Some of the reasons we spoke of via PM makes me think it is original.
Then I see these closeups, and I don't see the aging in the paint I would expect. The whitish background
also appears to be rubbed vs aged naturally. I wish I could give you more of a solid answer, but Navy patches
are not one of my strongest points.

Maverickson