• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

First view of McGregor/David D Doniger AN-J-3

Dr H

Dear All

With apologies for the poor images (screen grabs converted to JPG), this is the jacket that Andrew kindly (and unselfishly) offered up on the Forum last week.

It's not in the country yet and a fuller review will follow once I've had a chance to look at it more closely and take one better images (before you ask Alan, on this occasion I won't be wearing it as I'd need to have a couple of ribs removed first - it's a generous 40/small 42 if the dimensions are correct.

I'll preface this with saying that if I'm a novice with A-2s, know little about naval jackets and much less about the AN-J-3 :oops: . Others with a deeper knowledge and more experience please feel free to comment, but this is the short-lived attempt to address the needs of both services (army and navy) - as you can see it has some elements of both A-2 and later naval jackets.

I don't know whether this is a jacket that was produced in mil spec and badged McGregor, a commercial copy of a mil spec jacket that Doniger produced in e.g. goatskin for the military... in fact I just don't know much... :roll:

What can be said with confidence is that it's a David D Doniger - in common with the A-2 that I posted a little while ago, it has the label of the commercial arm of the business, McGregor Sportswear.

'Nuff said, images...

AN-J-3front-1.jpg

AN-J-3back.jpg

AN-J-3lining.jpg

AN-J-3latch.jpg

AN-J-3collar-label-1.jpg

AN-J-3label.jpg

AN-J-3cuffdarn.jpg

AN-J-3waistknitcuff.jpg

AN-J-3pockets.jpg

AN-J-3zip.jpg

As you can, some work to do to clean and tidy...

Sadly I won't be wearing it - a shame as it has grown on me, but just too small - so, it'll be for sale after some fettling and research.

Dr H

Hi Alan