• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Calling G1 jacket experts

bretta

Hello All,

Newbie here. A little intro... I'm based in England and have a nice little collection of N-2As, N-2Bs and a couple of N-3Bs too.

I recently purchased a 1976 G1 made by IMPERIAL LEATHER & SPORTSWEAR INC, unfortunately it was a little small to be a comfortable fit. So I decided to buy the next size up which was a 1975 G1 made by STAR SPORTSWEAR MFG. CORP.

The one made by Imperial Leather and Sportwear (1976) has a real feel of quality about it. The leather is of a decent weight. With this in mind I was very disappointed when the 1975 Star Sportswear G1 turned up. It felt very cheap and the leather is almost paper thin and the jacket is much lighter in weight.

My questions for the experts are... could the 1976 version be made of cowhide whereas the 1975 be made of goat skin, could this account for the vast difference in weight and feel? Or was there varying degrees of quality between the G1 contractors and Star Sportswear G1 from 1975 being one of the lesser quality ones?

Any help on this would be much appreciated.
kindest regards
Bretta

PS. I believe both jackets to be absolutely genuine, the labels are authentic and they both have that smell that US military jackets have... not sure whether it's the mouton or from being in mil stores, but I have no reason to doubt their authenticity.

Jason

Welcome Bretta.
Its pretty unlikely that your '75 Star is goatskin, pretty sure they stopped making them in goatskin when the then new 7823E specification came out in 1971. There was quite a bit of subtle variation between makers, and leather quality was one of them. For what its worth, my Imperial also from 1976 is fantastic too.