• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Who makes the most accurate hi-quality A-2 budget Repro ?

bozko

Howdy All-I'm a newbie looking for the best quality & most accurate budget repro A-2 I can find.A responsive tailor/company re fit,color,etc is a big plus.I've read abt Platon,FiveStar,Headwind,etc-so any opinions welcome.
PS-I notice most of the manufacturers don't have an extra 'Made by...' tag hidden in the jacket (ie: Made by 5*/Made by Platon,etc). If I'm on Ebay/Etsy & all the repro has is the US military replica labels-how do i know which modern craftsman manufactured the jacket ? Brand new to the field,thanks very much for your patience.

Smithy

Like Rutger I've never owned a Platon but from the multitude of photos that have come by here, they really look excellent for the outlay. But one thing though with Platon is if you're over 6' pretty much forget it as they're short.

bozko

I guess some of these guys kind of have 'stealth' marketing re: search engine optimization & self-promotion.He sounds like a great craftsman.

johnwayne

If budget is key then patience is a virtue - personally not had a ‘budget’ priced new jacket so cant compare but like many here we’ve gone down the ‘used’ route before paying bigger bucks ‘new’although even secondhand Goodwear’s and ELC’s don’t come cheap any longer! The other major issue again as many here will testify is fit, because rarely can we try before we buy. I have heard/read here many times that even when measurements are correct sometimes a jacket just doesn’t feel right.
Not sure what my message is really other than it might take more than one attempt/ purchase to end up with the jacket you are ultimately happy with if you’re as nerdy as most of here are about our jackets!!!

Kermit3D

Hi!