• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

What Are Some Good Choices for Bike Jacket Hides?

MediumMech

So, after a few years away from the hobby, I'm looking to get back into riding motorcycles. Obviously, this means a new jacket is in order!!! As I have freakishly long arms, I will almost certainly be commissioning something semi custom. Aero is my first choice at the moment, but I'm open to other possibilities. In any case, I will need to make some decisions regarding a hide. I'm new to this, so I'm not fully sure of the advantages/disadvantages of steer versus horse. I'm also not sure of what kind of tanning or preservative processes make for a good utility jacket that has decent rain resistance. I'm likely to chose a jacket pattern that is based on a 40's or 50's jackets, so with all those pockets and details, I'm imagining that the hide weight shouldn't be too high. I'm looking to learn from others who ride and/or wear jackets in all weather conditions. What hides have you found that perform well and look great?

Thanks!

- Dave

MikeyB-17

Good man!