• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Wartime Wear of Patches and Name Tags on A-2s / B-10s

TroopCarrier

Hi all,

aside from the exceptions (which there always are - dependent on unit and/or individual Airmen), below is my non-scientific take on looking at wartime photos of A-2s and B-10s being worn. I am not a novice when it comes to studying wartime photos (although I am a "newbie" on this forum).

Thought it might be a fun different way of looking at the art work.

More common to less:

A-2s w/o patches or name tags (most common)
A-2s w/name tags, but no patches
A-2s w/patches, but no name tags
A-2s w/patches and name tags (very rare)

B-10s w/o patches or name tags (most common)
B-10s w/name tags, but no patches
B-10s w/patches, but no name tags (very rare)
B-10s w/patches and name tags (I've never seen one that I can recall)

Again, yes there are always the exceptions by unit and Airmen who bling out their jackets, but that is not what I'm looking to know.

Jeff

Cocker

A couple B-10 with patch and name tags from the 365th Fighter Group. There’s also a lot of patched A-2!

8f0b2a70c7833f84ea1d181a2f1256ef.jpg

c91ac5db03d993b30c3c232778a1bcd4.jpg

Envoyé de mon iPhone en utilisant Tapatalk

Cocker

Lots of A-2 with patch and some with patch and nametag from the 365th again. All pics courtesy of « Thunderbolts of the Hell Hawks »:

e91fd93f75ef4c419a4deb50cf2d9e7d.jpg

9ac6d5433ca4d1a951564e31d5a414dd.jpg

da975bf116d98eb44e5b04d0e5b70ebe.jpg

864deb04b7ace0765a836a894b99eed9.jpg

15990d00ae017e2f715bcfa85a3364d8.jpg

1875cbba18e58ce5b0a78d71a80f1c61.jpg

Tom Bowers

Different regions also had different proportions of decorated flight jackets.