• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Recommendations for sheepskin jackets wanted

Graknil

Hello Forum community,

I'm a newbie in terms of leatherjackets. I'm looking for a lambskin jacket which keeps me warm while driving a roadster even in lower temparatures. I'm especially fond of british flying jackets in the irvin-style. Browsing the Internet i came across several websites of manufacturers, but could not make a decision yet. Because i don't plan to drive the car far below 0 degrees I would prefer a kind of lightweight-jacket, which is not too bulky.
That's why i'm looking for advice. What's your experience with the various jackets, which jacket/manufacturer would you recommend and for which reason? Are there any manufacturers, who make bespoke jackets or at least "made to measure"? What would i have to consider as a reasonable price?
Thanks for answers in advance
Olaf

mulceber

Hi Olaf, welcome to the board! For shearling jackets right now (FYI: lambskin is something completely different), the makers most people go to are Aero Leather of Scotland and Eastman Leather. Five Star Leather is making good inroads too. If you're looking for a lighter jacket, you might consider the D-1 style, as that was made in a lighter shearling. I'm not sure how wearable an Irvin would be in above-freezing weather, but that's worth exploring. The first two makers produce both D-1s and the Irvin (multiple varieties, in fact), while Five Star only makes the D-1 and B-3s at the moment. For price, Aero is very much middle of the pack here: £750-800, depending on the jacket. Eastman is about £300 above that, while Five Star is about £300-400 below Aero's price point.

Last edited:

mulceber