• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

purpose of epaulettes

wop54

Why A2 Flight Jackets have epaulettes? I've been told that they were useful when someone had to help the wounded or unconscious pilots to get out of the cockpit after a difficult landing or a crash....is that true?

Stony

So I guess the Navy and Marine pilots weren't getting any help out of their planes? ;)

Atticus

Hi Wop54,

Welcome to the forum!

I am no expert on this subject, but I think that epauletts were common on officer's clothing during WWII. As such, I think they were basically decorative and served no practical function beyond being a place on which to wear rank insigna.

AF

Atticus

Stony said:
So I guess the Navy and Marine pilots weren't getting any help out of their planes? ;)

Nah. By the time help arrived Navy and Marine pilots had already sunk.

AF

JRaptor

I think they are there to keep something the pilots wore in place, like a parachute or some kind if strap or webbing that passes through them.

hacker

It's a carryover from the days when officers wore their rank on their shoulder representing the responsibility they carried and enlisted men wore their rank on their sleeves as they were the "muscle"....read that somewhere once!

Hacker

zoomer

I do know that until 1942, Army officers wore ranks on their shirt epaulets as well. Must have made carrying anything on a shoulder strap a painful ordeal.

watchmanjimg