• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Paint removal….

Shropshire-lad

Just spotted an Eastman B3 on Ebay, going cheap (£350) but relatively good condition but…. It’s got some nose art on the back. Any idea if there is a successful way of removing such like?? I mean without damag the finish?

B-Man2

I’m not an expert and there are others here who know much more about this subject, but I think that in order to remove a painting almost as large as the size of the back of the jacket , you would have to strip the finish off the jacket and re stain the hide. Failing to do this will always leave paint in the hide and give the hide a coloring . It’s a pretty big and messy job I think.

Shropshire-lad

Hmmmm….. Sounds like a big job and probably not that straight forward. Below is a screen shot….
8C0F6E26-D5B2-42C5-AC72-E128BCD257E7.jpeg

Micawber

Hmmmm….. Sounds like a big job and probably not that straight forward. Below is a screen shot….
View attachment 84148

Successful removal depends on the type of paint, some you can shift without damage to the leather finish, others might come off but will require the leather to be refinished, others will leave traces. That looks like acrylic but it's a job to say for certain without having it in hand. It's a gamble that is probably not worth the effort unless you like a challenge and are prepared for a potential bad outcome

Dany McDonald

And if you manage to find the corresponding solvent (exclusive to the paint) that is harmless to the leather finish, take in consideration that it will leave a ghost imprint... So as mentioned by Steve a refinish is to be planned.

Personalization by artwork is always a gamble and to be evaluated very seriously as it may loose the initial meaning and impact once it its the resale market.