• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Older Avirex - Cowhide?

CoopDog

Okay, so as you know, I am a newbie here. Still experimenting with sizes and fit and color, and leather types before I take the big plunge for a quality repro. I picked up this Avirex on Ebay in size 46 for $60 delivered! I bought it for two reasons. First, I have another cheap Avirex in size 44 that is a tight fit. I wanted to see what the next size up fits like. When I find what is the perfect fit, I will measure the jacket and know what are my personal requirements for: pit to pit, shoulder to cuff, back length, shoulder to shoulder. Then, I should be ready to buy a quality repro. without getting burned with a wrong size. I have learned that the marked size means nothing.

The other reason I bought this jacket is that it did not look like goatskin in the photos on Ebay and I wanted to try another kind of leather. So, it has arrived and has no "Genuine Goatskin" or ""Genuine Horsehide" label. It has what I think is the older Avirex style hanger loop. From the way it looks to me (and I am certainly no expert on leathers) it appears to be cowhide. It's definitely not lambskin and I don't think it is goatskin because I have another jacket that is definitely goatskin and this one is different. So, I think it is cowhide. I must say, I rather like this leather, and prefer it to goatskin. Also, I like the way the jacket fits. It is well broken-in, but not overly worn, and the color is nice and dark and uniform, not faded in spots like my previous goatskin purchase.