• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

How to age a name tape?

Weasel_Loader

Anyone know how to age a nametape? The one I just got from ebay is a little on the "bright" side and will look a little strange on my seal Dubow. Thanks for any ideas. ;)

deand

A thin coating of furniture scratch cover should do it. Wipe on, wipe off, repeat as necessary. Someone will probably object to this ;)

dean

Vcruiser

deand said:
A thin coating of furniture scratch cover should do it. Wipe on, wipe off, repeat as necessary. Someone will probably object to this ;)

dean

That could work!
I'm an artist..and use various stains. Brushing on a dark stain..letting it set for a few minutes...then wiping off works for me.
Van

Vcruiser

..Like this

100_0386.jpg

deand

You've made me feel a lot better about that idea, VCruiser! I used that stain on another piece of leather and was very pleased with the results, so I guessed it might work. Thanks!

dean

Vcruiser

deand said:
You've made me feel a lot better about that idea, VCruiser! I used that stain on another piece of leather and was very pleased with the results, so I guessed it might work. Thanks!

dean

I don't know if it would work with all leather nametags. Some that I've seen seem to have a coating/finish on them. However,nametags from Aero or Eastman are natural finish and allow for the stain to darken the leather.
Van

flightmac

Well, if you have a little time and a slightly oily complexion (and don't think this is too icky); :roll: try rubbing it on your forehead and nose in the mornings (assuming you shower in the evening). I tried that on a natural leather strip from Garcia Aviation and in a couple of weeks or so had a nice, natural aged look.

tom james