• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

FIVESTAR LEATHER D-1 JACKET

sliuman

Can't really say as to the quality of the hardware, as I'm not an expert on vintage clothing. It was the style of the jacket that appealed to me. I can say that the zip pull is a little loose and can twist around but I can live with it. The buckle on the collar strap appears to do the job. Some pics below.

IMG_9854.JPEG

IMG_9855.JPEG
IMG_9856.JPEG

I think the hardware should last me since the type of action I'm likely to put this jacket through will not be in the service of aircraft or vehicles in wartime, lol!

Could these have been improved? Advice welcomed. Are there better options available from Fivestar?

Generally the jacket seems well put together. There are no loose seams that I can see at a cursory glance. The leather seems nice but this is my first sheepskin jacket so my knowledge is limited. It has a slight leather aroma and there are no other odours of any sort.

It weighs just under 3.5lb and is very comfortable to wear. I have to say that what I imagined as I looked at this jacket in pictures on the website and Shawn's progress pics is what I got when I put this on. Shawn assures me looseness at the waist is a good thing and normal, and while I have seen vintage photos where the waist is tight to the body, I prefer the looseness. Perhaps I should have been more emphatic about it being a tad smaller at 48 inches rather than the 50 inches it is now but it's a minor matter for me.

Despite this hiccup, I'm very happy with the jacket for the US$490 it cost me and based on the level of expected use. Budget restraints mean I could never buy from the higher-end manufacturers, so this is a perfect mid-range effort for me. As to longevity only time will tell, haha!