• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Boot recommendations for icy conditions

SteveN

Does anyone have recommendations for boots for heavy snow and ice? I have an unplanned trip coming up to Quebec City for a month, and am scrambling to prepare. High today was -13C (!). I'm hoping an M-65 with a liner and a few layers + scarf will do the trick there (yeah, I know a shearling would be ideal, but expensive for a single trip). I've never done an icy winter before, so welcome any boot recommendations.

Smithy

Does anyone have recommendations for boots for heavy snow and ice? I have an unplanned trip coming up to Quebec City for a month, and am scrambling to prepare. High today was -13C (!). I'm hoping an M-65 with a liner and a few layers + scarf will do the trick there (yeah, I know a shearling would be ideal, but expensive for a single trip). I've never done an icy winter before, so welcome any boot recommendations.

We get a LOT of ice here and a lot of mirror ice, the worst stuff which can be a couple of inches thick and as smooth as glass and as hard as steel.

In the old days and especially if we are talking WWII, you'd wear boots with hobnails which are very effective. The problem is that they will rip up and seriously mark and damage modern interior flooring. Your best bet is to use what they call here in Norway, "brodder" which are hobnails (even crampons in the heavy duty ones) which slip over your shoes and can be taken off and put on with ease. Here's what I'm talking about.

861343.jpg

If you're talking about walking around in deep snow and very cold conditions, I have a pair of Sorel boots which are perfect for those kinds of conditions as they're sheepskin lined. I also use them up in the mountains over winter with or without snowshoes. Here's mine...