• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

“Name That A2.... And The Winner Is.....”

B-Man2

Hey Guys .. :)
How often have we’d played the “Name The A2” game lately ? Not too frequently right? , but a number of years ago, back when I was a newbie, the seasoned guys on VLJ played the game a whole lot more than we do today . Of course vintage jackets were more prevalent back then and a lot of the old timers had great collections, which they posited photos of and discussed the nuances of each maker and contract . Whenever someone challenged them by posting an unknown maker A2, they were damn good at the game and nailed the jacket down in one or two posts . Being a newbie, I was always pretty impressed and wondered how in the hell they did that . What made them so damned good, that they could spot a jacket by a particular maker and in some instances even pick the right contract from that maker. Keep in mind that there was no A2 Manual by Gary Eastman yet. This was 2008- 2009 and he was still in the process of doing his research for his book which wouldn’t be published until 2012 . Now don’t get me wrong , the information was out there, but if you wanted to be knowledgeable in learning about and identifying A2 jackets, you had to do your own research , read a lot , and search the web. One of the Internet resources many of us used was AcmeDepot.com , “ The Type A2 Flight Jacket” by Marc Weinshenker
It provided many of us with what we thought at the time, was some spot on information about the A2 jacket .